Ashley Till Portfolio Year 2021-2022

1. Rural Sociology vol. 75 (Academic Search Complete database)
2.  The Annals of the American Academy of Political and Social Sciences (JSTOR database)
3. Public Policy and Administration (JSTOR database)

Greetings! I am pleased to introduce myself as the library liaison assigned to the Department of English and Modern Languages, Department of Military Sciences, Department of Visual and Performing Arts (Art, Drama, Music), Freshman Programs, and 1890 Research and Extension and to explain the roles of liaison librarians at the Miller F. Whittaker Library. 

Liaison librarians are available to you for assistance with collection development by facilitating book purchases that enhance your teaching curriculum and department needs. We play a primary role in the accreditation process by providing databases usage and book collections statistics to ensure that the library reflects the proper content of print and electronic resources required for accreditation. Liaison librarians are available to assist with any department programming that includes a library component. 

The Liaison Instruction Program generates dialogue between the library and academic departments to enhance the library's understanding of user needs and to promote the library's services and resources. This program is designed to provide formal and informal library instruction based upon the needs of students, faculty, and staff. It is presented through lectures and demonstrations to respond to the total education process of the academic community.  

The Library Instruction Program is an ongoing entity assuring each student at the university exposure to basic and varied library experiences and information resources. The program introduces students to library research methods and concepts so they can function effectively in modern libraries and information centers using multi-formatted information sources - print, microforms, databases, and online services. Focus is placed on instructional methods that will help users learn, select, and evaluate library materials appropriate to their needs. It is designed to motivate users to consistently use the library and its resources. 

Library Instruction is presented on three levels:
  

•      Level I - Orientation to library collections, facilities, and services (Freshman) 
•      Level II - Special materials in subject areas (Sophomore-Senior) 
•      Level III - Professional and research sources (Graduate-Doctoral) 

Faculty and Community organizers may schedule a Subject-based instruction class by contacting the Reference Desk at 803-536-8640 or by completing a Library Instruction Request  Form and emailing it to Ashley Till, atill1@scsu.edu.  

I look forward to working with you this semester, 

Ashley Till