Miller F. Whittaker Library: Ashley Till Portfolio Year 2021-2022: 5. Identify appropriate print and technological resources you will use to meet the needs of library users in bibliographic instruction, research study sessions, and other educational endeavors. (6%)

Identify appropriate print and technology resources you will use to meet the needs of library users in bibliographic instruction, research study sessions, and other educational endeavors (6)

The Library Databases contain scholarly journals, e-books, dissertations (electronic and print) etc., are used to provide bibliographic instructions;
These library resources and services are used in curricular subject disciplines with related content;
Library instruction classes which focus on the skills needed to help users become information literate,

Examples of using Library Databases containing scholarly journals, e-books, dissertations (electronic and print) etc., are used to provide bibliographic instructions in English (under the following tabs: Your Research Questions, Find Background Information, and Find Sources), Performing Arts (under the following tabs: Databases for Performing Arts, Newspaper Databases, and Books) and Visual Arts (under the following tabs: Home page, Newspaper databases and Books) Libguides:

These library resources and services in the Libguides are used in curricular subject disciplines with related content;

English Libguides
Library Databases ×
Academic Search Complete Pascal Icon 3
A comprehensive scholarly database that offers full-text journal coverage of a broad range of areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic/multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion/theology, veterinary science, women´s studies, zoology, and many other fields.
Academic Search Premier
Provides full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975.
JSTOR
Use this database to find information in African American studies, African studies, the arts, business, education, history, language and literature, mathematics, political science, and various other subjects.
Performing Arts
Databases for Performing Arts ×
Academic Search Premier
Provides full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975.
African American Music Reference
Contain 50,000 pages that offers the first comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.
Alexander Street - Academic Video Online - (ASAVON)
Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 66,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
American Song - History Database
American Song is a history database that allows people to hear and feel the music from America´s past. The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more. Content from African American Music is now a part of American Song, including 17,000 tracks from the original interface, plus 18,000 newly released tracks.
Black Drama
Contains approximately 1310 plays by 210 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
Credo Reference
Full text of more than 600 subject-specific encyclopedias, biographies, chronologies, and dictionaries, all from well-respected publishers.
Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text
Comprehensive bibliographic and full-text database for film and television research. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. The database provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 380 publications (and selected coverage of 300), as well as full text for more than 120 journals and 100 books. In addition, the database includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to present and over 36,300 images from the MPTV Image Archive.
International Bibliography of Theater and Dance with Full Text
Fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries.
JSTOR
Use this database to find information in African American studies, African studies, the arts, business, education, history, language and literature, mathematics, political science, and various other subjects.
Play Index-Contemporary Playwrights, Monologues for Auditions, etc.
Covers the works of contemporary playwrights, including new editions and translations. Includes citations to approximately 31,000 plays dating from 1949 to present time and over 600 monologues for auditions or course assignments. Coverage includes descriptive annotations to summarize the plot and indicate musical requirements.
Visual Arts
Databases for Visual Art ×
Academic Search Premier
Provides full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975.
Art Full-Text
A comprehensive resource of indexing, abstracting, and full-text journal articles covering fine, decorative and commercial art as well as photography, folk art, film, architecture, etc.
Artstor
Artstor is a digital library of approximately 550,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
JSTOR
Use this database to find information in African American studies, African studies, the arts, business, education, history, language and literature, mathematics, political science, and various other subjects.