Sociology Research : Find Sources

A comprehensive scholarly database that offers full-text journal coverage of a broad range of areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic/multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion/theology, veterinary science, women´s studies, zoology, and many other fields.

Provides full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975.

Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, International Studies and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national, and local news sources. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.

Country reports that provide snapshots of the world’s cultures.

Dissertations and Theses Full-text from ProQuest is the full-text version of Dissertation Abstracts database, the authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master´s theses. The database contains more than 2 million total entries in which more than 600,000 are available in PDF formats for immediate free download.  Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master´s theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.

This free research database offers essential content covering important issues related to race in society today. Essays, articles, reports and other reliable sources provide an in-depth look at the history of race and provide critical context for learning more about topics associated with race, ethnicity, diversity and inclusiveness.

Collection of scholarly, government, and general-interest titles that covers all aspects of human impact to the environment. Includes content on global warming, green building, pollution and its effects on human health, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, environmental history, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts as well as full text.

Use this database to find information in African American studies, African studies, the arts, business, education, history, language and literature, mathematics, political science, and various other subjects.

Contains all the indexing, abstracting, and full text that is contained in the following six Wilson databases:  Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers´ Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, and Wilson Business Full Text.  OmniFile also contains complete indexing, abstracting, and full text from all of the journals in the five following databases to which Wilson has full text rights:  Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index Plus, Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text, and Library Literature & Information Science Full Text.  Indexing and abstracting is present for all articles from those journals without regard to whether or not Wilson has the full text for that particular article.  

Database of contemporary social issues with content structured to promote critical-thinking skills and information literacy.  Contains more than 8,700 pro and con viewpoint articles as well as podcasts, reviewed Web links, images, statistical tables, charts and graphs.

ProQuest has integrated the EBL and Ebrary Ebook Collections into one platform under Ebook Central.  The new platform contains the EBLcollection of 3,420 e-books titles from 26 university press publishers with copyright dates from 2012 forward as well as the Ebrary Academic Complete collection which includes electronic books in the following subject areas: business/economics, computers/IT, education, engineering/technology, history/political science, humanities, interdisciplinary/area studies, language/literature/linguistics, law/international relations/public policy, life sciences, medical, nursing/allied health, physical sciences, psychology/social work, religion/philosophy, and sociology/anthropology. Both on and off-campus users must login to the new Proquest Ebook Central platform via their campus user name and password.

A collection of database modules that contain full-text journal and newspaper articles about art, business, children, education, health, humanities, law, military, science, psychology, social science, women´s interest, etc.

Provides full text access to articles from hundreds of social science journals, covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences. Coverage includes addiction studies, economics, family studies, law, minority studies, political science, psychology, social work, and more.

StudySC – Know where you live.
Explore South Carolina through StudySC! Learn about your community, South Carolina history, and the people who have made a significant impact on the state and the world.