History Research : Find Sources

A comprehensive scholarly database that offers full-text journal coverage of a broad range of areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic/multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion/theology, veterinary science, women´s studies, zoology, and many other fields.

Provides full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975.

Contain 50,000 pages that offers the first comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.

American Song is a history database that allows people to hear and feel the music from America´s past.  The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more.  Content from African American Music is now a part of American Song, including 17,000 tracks from the original interface, plus 18,000 newly released tracks.

Provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press on a continuous basis. This collection includes AP Top News, WorldStream, Financial News, AP Online, U.S. Politics, Government and 50 State Reports.  Users can immediately access the full text of the NewsMonitor-delivered web content, by following the link in the record. The index to the full text content in AP News is held for a rolling 30-day archive.

Contains approximately 1310 plays by 210 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.

The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media, 1976 to today.

Offers short stories and folktales, ranging thematically from oral traditions that date back many hundreds of years to contemporary tales of modern life. In addition to these works, the database includes complete runs of selected literary magazines, such as Kyk-Over-Al and The Beacon.

Contains 1297 sources with 1100 authors, covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans.

Celebrates the many voices of women from Africa and the African Diaspora. Offering fiction, poetry, and essays from three continents and 20 countries, the database gives an unparalleled view of black women’s struggles through time.

A searchable collection of poetry and fiction produced in the region during the 19th and 20th centuries. Among the titles selected by our editors are numerous rare and hard-to-find works written in English, French, Spanish, Dutch, and various Creole languages.

Full-text online access to the Chronicle of Higher Education.

CQ Press Congress Collection provides research and reference tool for analyzing the history and development, legislation, powers, and personalities of the U.S. Congress. 

CQ Press Voting and Elections Collection integrates a wealth of data, authoritative analyses, concise explanations, and historical material to provide a powerful research and reference tool on the American voter, major and minor political parties, campaigns and elections, and historical and modern races for Congress, the presidency, and governorships. 

Country reports that provide snapshots of the world’s cultures.

Dissertations and Theses Full-text from ProQuest is the full-text version of Dissertation Abstracts database, the authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master´s theses. The database contains more than 2 million total entries in which more than 600,000 are available in PDF formats for immediate free download.  Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master´s theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.

Bibliographic database for libraries, scholars and individuals interested in European works that relate to the Americas. EBSCO Publishing, in cooperation with the John Carter Brown Library, has created this resource from European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750, the authoritative bibliography that is well-known and respected by scholars worldwide. The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.

This free research database offers essential content covering important issues related to race in society today. Essays, articles, reports and other reliable sources provide an in-depth look at the history of race and provide critical context for learning more about topics associated with race, ethnicity, diversity and inclusiveness.

Offers scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. All major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology. The database is updated weekly.

Collection of scholarly, government, and general-interest titles that covers all aspects of human impact to the environment. Includes content on global warming, green building, pollution and its effects on human health, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, environmental history, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts as well as full text.

A collection of primary resources from HBCU libraries and archives. It includes several thousand scanned pages of photographs, university correspondence, manuscripts, images of campus buildings, alumni letters, memorabilia, and programs from campus events.

Collection of page images from selected historic newspapers of 25 states and the District of Columbia published from 1836-1922 including 34 historic South Carolina newspapers published in Anderson, Anderson Court House, Bennettsville, Charleston, Columbia, Edgefield, Georgetown, Laurens, Orangeburg, Orangeburg Court House, Pickens Court House, Rock Hill, Sumter, and Sumterville.  This collection is searchable by date and keyword and is powered by Chronicling America, a joint project of the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.

The HistoryMakers, established in 1999, is a non-profit institution whose purpose is to record, preserve and disseminate the content of video oral history interviews highlighting the accomplishments of individual African Americans and African-American-led groups and movements. Its aim is to provide a unique scholarly and educational resource for exploring African American history and culture. It is unique among collections of African American heritage because of its large and varied scope, with interviewees from across the United States, from a variety of fields, and with memories stretching from the 1890s to the present. Rather than focus on one particular part of a person’s life or a single subject, such as a career or participation in the civil rights movement, the interviews are life oral histories covering the person’s entire span of memories as well as his or her own family’s oral history.

Comprehensive U.S. and world history reference resource that includes full-text history periodicals, historical documents, biographies, photos, maps, and video content on social, political, and cultural history from 1893 to 1985.

Cites articles from periodicals in the fields of archaeology and classical studies, art and photography, folklore, general scholarship, history, journalism and communications, language and literature, literary and political criticism, music and performing arts, philosophy, and religion and theology. Date coverage includes 1907-1984.

This database offers full text for many of the most important academic sources in the humanities. Provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas and more.

Offers a multidisciplinary view into the study of Jewish civilization from its historical origins to the present. Content within the collection is meant to cover all facets of Judaism and provide context by drawing across multiple areas of study including archaeology, anthropology, ethnic studies, history, philosophy, religious studies, women´s studies, etc.  Contains full-text academic journals, monographs, and over 1600 biographies of leading historical and contemporary Jews.

Use this database to find information in African American studies, African studies, the arts, business, education, history, language and literature, mathematics, political science, and various other subjects.

Provides the latest news from the leading national and international news sources.

Contains all the indexing, abstracting, and full text that is contained in the following six Wilson databases:  Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers´ Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, and Wilson Business Full Text.  OmniFile also contains complete indexing, abstracting, and full text from all of the journals in the five following databases to which Wilson has full text rights:  Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index Plus, Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text, and Library Literature & Information Science Full Text.  Indexing and abstracting is present for all articles from those journals without regard to whether or not Wilson has the full text for that particular article.  

Database of contemporary social issues with content structured to promote critical-thinking skills and information literacy.  Contains more than 8,700 pro and con viewpoint articles as well as podcasts, reviewed Web links, images, statistical tables, charts and graphs.

A collection reference works with sophisticated technology to create the most comprehensive collection of scholarship available online to focus on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture.

ProQuest has integrated the EBL and Ebrary Ebook Collections into one platform under Ebook Central.  The new platform contains the EBLcollection of 3,420 e-books titles from 26 university press publishers with copyright dates from 2012 forward as well as the Ebrary Academic Complete collection which includes electronic books in the following subject areas: business/economics, computers/IT, education, engineering/technology, history/political science, humanities, interdisciplinary/area studies, language/literature/linguistics, law/international relations/public policy, life sciences, medical, nursing/allied health, physical sciences, psychology/social work, religion/philosophy, and sociology/anthropology. Both on and off-campus users must login to the new Proquest Ebook Central platform via their campus user name and password.

A collection of database modules that contain full-text journal and newspaper articles about art, business, children, education, health, humanities, law, military, science, psychology, social science, women´s interest, etc.

StudySC – Know where you live.
Explore South Carolina through StudySC! Learn about your community, South Carolina history, and the people who have made a significant impact on the state and the world.

TeachingBooks is for anyone who reads, teaches, or enjoys books for children and teens. This service is primarily used in the PreK–12, public library, and academic settings.