Ashley Till Portfolio Year 2022-2023

SC State University's goal is to improve the overall campus experience.

Library's goal is to provide customer-oriented services and resources that support student success, teaching, and research of the SC State University community.

• Goal 1- Plan to continue to improve on the library environment to enhance better service and facilitate learning;
• Objective 1- Educate (proactively) users on campus and off-campus to become adept searchers, evaluators, and users of information resources, ongoing;

SC State University's goal is to Transform the Curriculum and Research Programs.

Activities: Improve on library environment and educate users on campus and off campus by teaching students and faculty about academic databases and the catalog and ensuring the databases and online catalog are accessible on and off campus. Time Frame: Fall 2022-Spring 2023 

Library's goal is to develop and retain a highly qualified workforce by affording library personnel opportunities to participate in professional development, scholarship, and university-wide and community activities.

• Goal 2- Plan to maintain an environment that promotes knowledge and a service-oriented staff;
• Objective 1- Plan to enhance ongoing training and development opportunities on library service and knowledge of the library resources;

SC State University's goal is to Enhance Student Enrollment .and Success.

Activities: Practice excellent customer service and attend professional development meetings, training, conferences, and webinars. Time Frame: Fall 2022-Spring 2023 

Library's goal is to Conduct services and operations that are fiscally responsible at overall library and programming levels.

• Goal 3-Plan to strengthen the role of library faculty who serve as liaisons for faculty, graduate, and undergraduate students to develop opportunities for maximizing effective communication;
• Objective 1- Regular communication with the liaison librarian, including library instruction, budget information, collection development needs, and participation in library-oriented programming.
• Objective 2- Further plan to develop the instructional assignments of library liaisons to reflect the nature of the research and curricular needs.

Activities: Served as a liaison to the English, Performing Arts, Military Science Departments, 1890 Extension and Freshmen Programs by offering instructional classes, collection development, and library orientations on resources in a timely and effective manner. Time Frame: Fall 2022-Spring 2023 

• Strategy 1- plan to develop training opportunities for the library reference department in the use of new information to assist users in making effective use of existing and new resources;
• Strategy 2- Plan to encourage, maintain, and increase reference staff annual participation in relevant external and internal workshops and seminars identified as important for their professional development;

- Assisting the reference department with the creation of Libguides and using other Springshare applications.

- Sharing information about upcoming webinars with staff and faculty. 

- Worked on the event calendar in Springshare for Cathi Cooper Mack. Meet with Cathi for Libguides tutorial.

- Processed annual vendor contracts to continue providing access to users and library personnel. 

- Provide library instruction to liaison departments and follow up with an evaluation survey.

The Evolving Role of the Librarian

SC Conference on Information Literacy (SCCIL)

Faculty Development Institution

SCLA conference

Roving Librarian 

Brown Bag Lecture: Best Practices in Social Science Research

Radio Preservation Project

Meeting with Avery about press release for Project Stand microgrant

PASCAL Members Meeting

Fall 2022 General Assembly of Faculty & Staff

Academic Affairs Faculty Workshop

FAS/Global Programs 

EBSCO Visit with Zack O'Nell

From: Till, Ashley L. <atill1@scsu.edu>
Sent: Tuesday, March 1, 2022 9:27 AM
To: Stokes, Stephanie <sstokes6@scsu.edu>; McDonald, Beatrice E. <bmcdona2@scsu.edu>; Daniels, Avery <adaniel5@scsu.edu>; Cooper Mack, Cathi <ccoopermack@scsu.edu>; Johnson-Felder, Doris <LB_DJohnson@scsu.edu>; Keitt, Mykisha <mkeitt@scsu.edu>
Cc: Hodges, Ruth A. <rhodges@scsu.edu>; Strait, Juanita H. <justrait@scsu.edu>
Subject: Fw: [DISCUS-L] Discus News: New StudySC

Good morning,

Please see the message below from DISCUS about the new StudySC website.

Thank you, 

Ashley

From: Patricia Sinclair (South Carolina State Library) <psinclair.sc-state-library@members.mobilize.io>
Sent: Monday, February 28, 2022 3:41 PM
To: Till, Ashley L. <atill1@scsu.edu>
Cc: Discus-Discussion <discus-l@groups.mobilize.io>
Subject: [DISCUS-L] Discus News: New StudySC

- Emailed example to library staff and faculty about new information:

• The students will be given a pre-test at the beginning of the library instruction class and a post-test at the end of each library instruction.
  • The purpose of the tests is to compare the students; performance for a pre-post survey for SACS reporting.
  • The pre-test is intended to obtain information about the student's information-seeking knowledge and skills prior to a library instruction class.
  • This information is necessary for targeted instruction;
  • The effects of this pretest will help to recognize areas of student strengths and target are of student weaknesses.
  • The post-test will measure the knowledge that the students have gained from the library orientation session.
• The student will be given a brainstorming map/mind map tool that can help the students in their assignment to think in a more critical way and improve their problem-solving ability at the same time.
  • The brainstorming assignment will help the students to generate creative thinking or ideas for logical structure/hierarchy thought for their research papers' plan of action.
• The students will be given a KWL Chart Activity which is a graphic organizer that helps students organize information. KWL stands for "what you know/what you need to know/what you learned:"
  • This KWL assignment is designed for the student to exercise their research skills which will help them develop and to help the students learn more about their topic;
  • This activity will help guide the students through a three-step process to activate background knowledge, develop a purpose for the topic of what they are leaning about, and summarize the information.

Pre-Test Library Skills Assessment

Select the most appropriate response

1.  Which of the following search tools could you use to find a book that is shelved in the Miller F. Whittaker Library?

• The library's online catalog

• Google

• ARTstor

• Any of the above

2. Which of the following searches in the library catalog online will find the MOST books?

• Orangeburg Massacre

• Orangeburg Massacre AND Cleveland Sellers

• Orangeburg Massacre OR Cleveland Sellers

• None of the above

3. Have you previously attended a Miller F. Whittaker Library orientation ?

• Yes

• No

• Not sure

4. How would you find articles from Scholarly Journals?

• Miller F. Whittaker Online Databases accessible through the library's website

• Google and Bing

• Magazines and newspapers

• None of the above

5. Information you find on the Internet is usually:

• More reliable than information you find in books

• Written by experts

• Objective and unbiased

• None of the above

6. An article citation usually includes:

• Author, title of the article, title of the journal, and date of publication

• The full-text of the article online

• The definitions of key terms in the article

• All of the above

Post-Test Library Skills Assessment

Circle the most appropriate response

1.  Which of the following search tools could you use to find a book that is shelved in the Miller F. Whittaker Library?

• The library's online catalog

• Google

• ARTstor

• Any of the above

2. Which of the following searches in the library catalog online will find the MOST books?

• Orangeburg Massacre

• Orangeburg Massacre AND Cleveland Sellers

• Orangeburg Massacre OR Cleveland Sellers

• None of the above

3. Have you previously attended a Miller F. Whittaker Library orientation ?

• Yes

• No

• Not sure

4. How would you find articles from Scholarly Journals?

• Miller F. Whittaker Online Databases accessible through the library's website

• Google and Bing

• Magazines and newspapers

• None of the above

5. Information you find on the Internet is usually:

• More reliable than information you find in books

• Written by experts

• Objective and unbiased

• None of the above

6. An article citation usually includes:

• Author, title of the article, title of the journal, and date of publication

• The full-text of the article online

• The definitions of key terms in the article

• All of the above

• Visual learning tools to utilize through the usage of computers in the smart classroom for hands-on research, reading, and visual aids:
  • PowerPoint instructional presentations for library instruction classes.
  • Libguides:(see Libguides below)

• The library databases contain scholarly journals, e-books, dissertations (electronic), etc., and are used to provide bibliographic instructions;
• These library resources and services are used in curricular subject disciplines with related content;
• Library instruction classes focus on the skills needed to help users become information literate. 

Examples of using library databases containing scholarly journals, e-books, dissertations (electronic and print), etc., are used to provide bibliographic instructions in English (under the following tabs: Your Research Questions, Find Background Information, and Find Sources), Performing Arts (under the following tabs: Databases for Performing Arts, Newspaper Databases, and Books) and Visual Arts (under the following tabs: Home page, Newspaper databases, and Books) Libguides:

These library resources and services in the Libguides are used in curricular subject disciplines with related content.

I will incorporate the University policies and curricula by engaging in department liaison in the Department of English and Communications (English, Modern Languages), Department of Military Sciences, Department of Visual and Performing Arts (Arts, Drama, Music), Freshman Programs and 1890 Research and Extension

Instructional  classes:

• Students will be directed through PowerPoint, Libguides, and materials to locate and define ethical instructions, plagiarism, copyright, and sexual harassment policies and procedures (See examples below in the section about Write and Cite In Box labeled Citation Resource about Plagiarism Overview and Box labeled MLA Citation Style in the English Libguide)
• Copies of Powerpoint presentations and handouts will be submitted to instructors and students.

Throughout the semester the main focus will relate to information literacy:

• Information literacy is the ability to know when their is a need for information, to be able to identify, locate, evaluate and effectively use that information;
• To become lifelong learners, we need to know how to learn and how to teach ourselves to learn.

Ordered as many books as the budget allowed me to do for my liaison departments using the new book ordering system, Rialto.

Good morning Dr. Landis,

I think we finally have the issues resolved with Project Muse. Please follow these steps. Go to the Miller F. Whittaker home page (https://scsu.libguides.com/home) and under databases, select Project Muse. If you haven't already, sign up for a username and password go to this webpage: https://muse.jhu.edu/account and sign up for an account. Now go to "browse" or the search bar at the top of that webpage. Once you do that and select a book (we only have access to books, not journals). You should get a page that has a green check by the chapters now. Please see the screenshot below:

Please let me know if this works for you, thank you, Ashley

Colter, Charlene

Wed 1/19/2022 11:17 AM

To:

• Till, Ashley L.

Cc:

• Cooper Mack, Cathi

Good morning Ms. Till,

The book Professor Arslan requested has been ordered. I will keep you updated on the status of that book.

If you have any questions or concerns, please let us know.

Best regards,

Charlene 

Work as a liaison to the UCITS department and database vendors to manage proxy server access, configuration, and changes by:

• Coordinate the management of the electronic resources by communicating regularly with external service providers, including publishers, vendors, consortia, content providers, and technology suppliers; assisting with electronic resources license agreements and renewal management; investigating, and evaluating resources; (see email example below).
• Coordinating timely investigations and resolution of electronic resources access problems in troubleshooting; (see email example below).
• Investigating, evaluating, and recommending new and emerging technologies that will improve or expand services and access to library resources; and filling other electronic resource management duties as needed; (see email example below).
• Work with Library subscription vendors, Library office, and staff (see email example below).

Hello Ashley
We want to thank everyone that was able to attend our webinar Career Exploration with Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center on November 30th. For those that were not able to join us live, here is the recording.

Topic: Career Exploration with Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center Meeting Recording: https://infobase.zoom.us/rec/share/ZZGgZbin64cNDl-Qe6k9-FkEmF2knp-dEKv6gQ2FTg5-UrjHuzwJhSQ_LnknXBWT.hZIaZiQ2w2hEth2G Access Passcode: DISCUS21!

We welcome you to ask any questions or share addtional feedback.

Happy Holiday's from Infobase!

Michelle

From: Till, Ashley L. <atill1@scsu.edu>

Good morning,

Please see the email below.

Thank you, Ashley

Ashley L. Till, MLIS

 

---

From: DoNotReply_Orders@Ithaka.org <DoNotReply_Orders@Ithaka.org>
Sent: Thursday, March 24, 2022 10:07 PM
To: Till, Ashley L. <atill1@scsu.edu>
Subject: Your JSTOR Invoice SO136609 is now available

 

Dear Participant,   We're reaching out to let you know that your institution's JSTOR invoice is now ready. If you have a tax exemption number or VAT number, please provide it to us at participation@jstor.org. We must have this information on file for all tax-exempt participants by June 30, 2022. Payment instructions are posted here. To pay by credit card, please follow that link and scroll down to "Option 3 - Credit Card." Please reference the Customer ID (Participant ID) and Invoice Number on your payment. To expedite identification of payment sent by wire transfer, please reply with your trace number once the wire transfer has been initiated. If you have any questions about the invoice, please do not hesitate to contact us via email at support@jstor.org or via phone at +1-877-786-7575 (Toll-Free) or +1-212-358-6427. Thank you for your support of JSTOR! Best regards, JSTOR User Support (888) 388-3574 (toll free) (734) 887-7001 support@jstor.org @JSTORSupport

In 2022 and 2023, I worked on processing numerous vendor contracts, including getting quotes, communicating the process for submitting invoices, completing contract forms and submitting them to the legal department for review, and then getting the required vendor signatures after receiving the approved contracts from the legal department.

• Coordinate the timely investigation and resolution of electronic resources access problems. 
• Maintain and add web content for the library's website.
• Serve as a liaison to the UCTIS department and database vendors to manage proxy server access configuration, and changes.
• Work with vendors as needed to resolve any access issues.
• Facilitate the payment process with vendors in a timely manner.

Till, Ashley L.

To: OCLC <support@oclc.zendesk.com>

Cc: nkendzejeski.muse@jhu.edu

Wed 3/15/2023 9:25 AM

Good morning, please see the email below and advise. We are having issues with authenticating South Carolina State University with the database Project Muse. Thank you for your assistance. 

Ashley L. Till, MLIS

Electronic Resources Librarian/Reference Librarian

Miller F. Whittaker Library

South Carolina State University 

300 College Street, NE 

Orangeburg, South Carolina 29117

Office: (803) 536-7191

Email: atill1@scsu.edu

I speak and enunciate with persons on a daily basis via in person, phone or emails and I always try to use the correct English. I speak in my native tongue, which is English, making sure that patrons understand.

Incorporate a new educational tool Quizlet which is designed to engage the students in the learning process.

• Quizzes, study materials, flashcards, etc. can be made by the instructor and students.
  • This approach engages the students to utilize their learned research skills to problem solve and reflect using other classroom assignments.

Served on the CCAHA Preservation Needs Assessment grant to assist Avery Daniels and Dr. Ruth Hodges as I am the former archivist at SC State University. Please see the email below as evidence that I attended meetings:

Hodges, Ruth A.

Fri 2/25/2022 11:22 AM

To:  Dyani Feige <dfeige@ccaha.org>

Cc: Daniels, Avery;; Till, Ashley L.

Hello Dyani,  

I trust all is well with you.  As a reminder, in June 2021, you and a colleague conducted a virtual meeting with Avery Daniels, Ashley Till, and me.  You stated that you were in the process of preparing the report in September when I inquired about the status of the preservation report for SC State.  To date, we have not yet received the report.   

As I am certain you are, we would like to wrap-up and receive all products due pertaining to the Capacity Building Grant. Therefore, we would appreciate your providing us an update regarding this. 

If you have any questions, please let us know. 

Thank you, 

Ruth