SC State Initiative I, Goal 1: SC State University's goal is to improve the overall campus experience.
Library's Goal 1: The library's goal is to provide customer-oriented services and resources that support student success, teaching, and research in the SC State University community.
Library's Goal 1/Objective 1 Activities: Continue to provide excellent customer service to students in the library by troubleshooting computer/printing issues, answering reference questions via in-person, email, phone and chat services; and creating an inviting and friendly atmosphere. Time Frame: Fall 2023-Spring 2024.
Library's Goal 1/Objective 1: Activities: Teach LS 150 during 2023-2024 and teach the students about information literacy skills and lifelong learning. Time Frame: Fall 2023-Spring 2024.
SC State Initiative 2, Goal 2: SC State University's goal is to Transform the Curriculum and Research Programs.
Objective 2: Educate (proactively) users on campus and off campus to become adept searchers, evaluators, and users of informational resources (ongoing).
Library's Goal 1/Objective 2: Activities: Improve on library environment and educate users on campus and off campus by teaching students and faculty about academic databases and the catalog and ensuring the databases and online catalog are accessible on and off campus. Ongoing communication about the off-site databases not working until 4/3/2024. Time Frame: Fall 2023-Spring 2024.
Library Goal 1/Objective 3: Provide a more inviting library environment with spaces that support individual and small group collaborative work using technology (e.g., for study, discovery, and innovation) ongoing.
Library's Goal 1/Objective 3: Activities: Promote the use of the new study rooms and conference rooms, provide supplies, and reserve rooms in person, over the phone or via email if off-site or via the website reservations are not accessible. Troubleshoot web inaccessibility with website online reservation for study rooms. Time Frame: Fall 2023-Spring 2024.
Library's Goal II: The library's goal is to develop and retain a highly qualified workforce by affording library personnel opportunities to participate in professional development, scholarship, and university-wide and community activities.
Library's Goal II/Objective 1- Plan to maintain an environment that promotes knowledge and a service-oriented staff;
Library's Goal II/Objective 1: Activities: Effectively communicate technical issues, promote new databases to staff and faculty, and communicate new information on acquired resources, such as collection development for liaison areas.Time Frame: Fall 2023-Spring 2024.
Library's Goal II/Objective 2- Provide opportunities for scholarly contributions to the profession, ongoing
Library's Goal II/Objective 2: Activities: promote educational exhibits, write and facilitate grants using new technology (Contentdm).Time Frame: Fall 2023-Spring 2024.
Library's Goal II/Objective 3: Provide opportunities for library personnel to participate on university-wide and community outreach.
Library's Goal II/Objective 3: Activities: Member of the University's Technology Committee and use of new technology (Contentdm) for community outreach. Provided prospective students tours on 7/11/2023 (30 students). Member of various Orangeburg community groups outside of work; Positively reflect the University and and be knowledgeable about fund-raising and student retention. Fall 2023-Spring 2024.
SC State Initiative 3, Goal 3: SC State University's goal is to Enhance Student Enrollment and Success.
Library's Goal III: Conduct services and operations that are fiscally responsible at overall library and programming levels.
Activities: Practice excellent customer service and attend professional development meetings, training, conferences, and webinars. Recommend trial databases as full-time databases if usage statistics are high. Stay within the collection development budget. Time Frame: Fall 2023-Spring 2024.
Library's Goal III/Objective 1: Establish a culture of assessment associated with the delivery of quality library services and resources for SC State University users on-campus and/off campus, ongoing. Activities: Provide excellent customer service to students, faculty, and staff. Ensure the use of databases off-site is working properly. Fall 2023-Spring 2024.
Library's Goal III/Objective 2: Enhance access to library research, teaching, and learning collections through amenable purchasing power available through consortia and related partnerships, ongoing. Activities: Attend PASCAL meetings and know my responsibilities and follow through on these responsibilities. Attend Electronic Resources Librarian training. Fall 2023-Spring 2024.
Library's Goal III/Objective 3: Participate in grant writing and other fundraising initiatives, ongoing.
Activities: Served as a liaison to the English, Performing Arts, Military Science Departments, 1890 Extension and Freshmen Programs by offering instructional classes, collection development, and library orientations on resources in a timely and effective manner. Plan to enhance ongoing training and development opportunities on library service and knowledge of the library resources; I plan to incorporate my knowledge of computer usage by assisting students and faculty with computer use, teaching students and faculty on how to use PASCAL, ILL services, databases, and keeping statistics of computer related questions and faculty and student computer usage. Fall 2023-Spring 2024.
- Assisting the reference department with the creation of Libguides and using other Springshare applications, such as LibAnswers and reserving study rooms via LibCal.
- Provide tutorial on Academic Video Online during National Library Week.
- Sharing information about upcoming webinars and workshops with staff and faculty.
- Process annual vendor contracts to continue providing access to users and library personnel.
- Provide library instruction to liaison departments and follow up with an evaluation survey.
- Assist Mrs. Felder with updating LS 150 curriculum for Fall 2024-Spring 2025.
- Troubleshoot database issues with vendors and the IT department.
- Communicate with Dr. Hodges as technology issues arise (such as no access to databases off-site).
- Communicate with faculty, students and staff about database trials via email and in-person.
Email evidence of the above:
1) Thank you for your assistance. For 2020 AACSB can you please only print 21-50 pages, the prints can have 2 pages per page.
Sincerely,
Marshall Hemingway, MS, CPO, TRS,
Adjunct Professor
2)
Good Morning,
First, I would like to thank both of you for all your assistance yesterday. You really did an amazing job.
If by chance, could you see if you have any articles in regard to student perception of CTE, student decision making of CTE, or students Career Choice in CTE.
I would need no more than 20 resources.
Thank you both again for all your help. It truly was a blessing.
Have a BLESSED Day.
Department of Health Sciences
South Carolina State University
Orangeburg, SC 29117
300 College Street, NE
118 D-Wing Turner Hall
(843) 472-1993
mheming3@scsu.edu
Spring 2023 eFellows Online Teaching Certificate course
PASCAL/WSJ HBCU Program Overview
Promoting Equity in Information Literacy Instruction Through Universal Design for Learning
University Honors and Awards Convocation
Leading the Way for Information Literacy: Planning, Promotion, and Policy
Academic Video Online Tutorial
Nexis Uni Demo
Artstor User Group Meeting
Faculty meetings (Ongoing monthly)
Academic Libraries and Mental Health
Contentdm discovery call with SC State University
Behavior Change Coaching Initial (Ashley Till) with Summit Coaching, Shelby
Meeting with vendor Richard Haury/Database trial
PeMento and the Power of Peer Mentoring
New phone training Moss Hall
Updating Your AZ Database Page
EDIA Committee Meetings (Ongoing monthly)
Project Muse Journal Pricing for SC State meeting
Library Personnel Meetings (Ongoing)
Fall 2023 Faculty Insititute
General Assembly
What's New with LibGuides?
Dr. Perkins Library Instruction E 302 Advanced Composition Library Instruction class
Annual Cybersecurity Awareness Training
USPTO’S Patent and Trademark Resource Centers (PTRCs) (Ongoing)
Enhancing your library’s collections: Insights, collaborations, and future trends
Flirting with AI: Spend Some Interactive Time Exploring New Apps and Tools for Research
EDIA meeting with PASCAL Board and staff
Vendor demo meeting
PASCAL General meeting
Faculty Development Institute
Transforming Librarianship to Model Neuroinclusion in Libraries
Library Advocacy Work is Relationship Building Work: A Panel Discussion
Harnessing the power of primary sources: How libraries empower innovative teaching strategies
Get the Full Picture: Gathering Your ProQuest Resources
Defending Diversity II: The Challenges and Opportunities for DEIA Positions in Libraries
Miller F. Whittaker Library 56 Anniversary Celebration
Annual Honors and Awards Convocation 2024
Proving your library as a critical asset: Aligning library spending with your institution's academic programs
Recruiting to the Profession: The LIS Pipeline and How We Can Help
| Linda Heimburger
Electronic Resources Training and Outreach Coordinator - South Carolina State Library |
Help students Spring Back over Spring Break!
Attend the webinar
5 Tips for Success Using Tutor.com from Discus
Tuesday, March 26, 2024 @ 4:00 – 4:30 PM
Registration link: https://tprtutor.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_YpDdnOg8SlmyPlqv7_7BvA#
Join us as we go over five of our most frequently asked questions to make sure you are primed for success using Tutor.com! You will also have the chance to ask your questions at the end of the session. This live webinar is presented for Discus by Maxine Nebro of Tutor.com The webinar will also be recorded.
Linda Heimburger, MLS
Electronic Resources Training and Outreach Coordinator
1500 Senate Street, Columbia, SC 29201
803-734-4627| lheimburger@statelibrary.sc.gov
Innovation| Collaboration| Participation | Preservation
Please share these webinar opportunities broadly, as you are the primary Discus contact for your institution. All are welcomed to attend; especially consider these for your education faculty and students, academic success staff, librarians, and automotive tech students.
New! Explore Gale's ChiltonLibrary
Date: Tuesday, March 12, 2024 at 1:00 - 1:30 PM
New to Discus! Join us for a test drive of ChiltonLibrary, a great new resource for automotive tech students, car enthusiasts, and mechanics. Access trusted vehicle maintenance and repair information, videos, and ASE Test Prep Questions. Explore the platform enhancements including VIN searching capabilities and easy navigation to return to previous searches. This live webinar will also be recorded, so register now. If you cannot attend live, register and receive the recorded link.
Registration link: https://cengage-gale.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_tN2J1QhiT4S6_alkKjedsA
Choice Boards using Gale Resources from Discus
Date: Thursday, March 14, 2024 at 3:00 - 3:45 PM
In this session, explore sample of Choice Boards created for Discus Gale resources. Great for college teacher education pre-service/in service teachers to take into the classroom, Discover best practices that encourage more responsible, accountable, and independent learning. Walk away with materials connected to subjects of study for elementary, middle, and high school levels. This live section will also be recorded, so register soon. If you cannot attend live, register and receive the recorded link.
Hi Ashley,
Please see the attached flyer that we need to add to the website. We just need to get the registration form together so individuals can register online. Maybe we can work on the form tomorrow. Thank you!!!
Best Regards,
Cathi
Ruth A. Hodges, Ph.D.
From: Till, Ashley L. <atill1@scsu.edu>
Ruth A. Hodges, Ph.D.
Ruth A. Hodges, Ph.D.
Eric Ham, M.ED
Till, Ashley L.
Fri 4/5/2024 4:34 PM
Good afternoon Professor Williams,
We plan to do a trial of Bloomsbury Digital Fashion Masterclasses once the database becomes available. I will keep you posted.
Take care,
Ms. Till
Ashley L. Till, MLIS
Electronic Resources Librarian/Reference Librarian
Miller F. Whittaker Library
South Carolina State University
300 College Street, NE
Orangeburg, South Carolina 29117
Office: (803) 536-7191
Email: atill1@scsu.edu
Hello atill1@scsu.edu ,
Jason Barr has responded to your request and the ticket #24679 with subject "Screen I get when trying to access a article online from the library's catalog has been resolved.
Ashley,
Look like the site just down at this time.
You may [{{SOLUTION_APPROVAL_ACCEPT_URL}}]ACCEPT or [{{SOLUTION_APPROVAL_REJECT_URL}}]REJECT the solution.
If you are satisfied with the solution, please click on the accept link. If you are not satisfied with the solution, please click on the reject link.
Thanks for using the ticketing system,
The UCITS Support Team
Pre and Post-Test Library Skills Assessment:
Use bibliographic instruction and research study sessions in LS 150 and library instruction class by providing information on the library's system of organizing materials, the structure of the literature of the field, research methodologies appropriate to the academic discipline, and specific resources and finding tools (library catalog, indexes and abstracting services, bibliographic databases, etc. Prepare individuals to make immediate and lifelong use of information effectively by teaching the concepts and logic of information access and evaluation, and by fostering information independence and critical thinking. Aimed at equipping library users with skills to locate library sources and use them effectively to satisfy their information needs.
Use database assignment for effective teaching of the use of database searching: Instructions: Choose one (1) of the research topics listed above to conduct a database search using Boolean operators AND, OR, NOT, and a combination of at least two of the operators. You may choose any database from the Miller F. Whittaker Library’s electronic database that will give you the best results for your search. Be sure to list the database that you used. List the title of the article that best addresses your chosen topic and why (3-4 sentences).
Assign students an annotated bibliographies
Assignment: Develop five (5) annotated bibliographies cited in APA Style. Annotations are to include:
Here are the topics for your annotated bibliographies:
3. What effect does social media have on your mind?
4. Should college athletes be paid?
5. What is the cause of increased violence among young adults?
Assign Presentations for the final project in LS 150. Items that are to be submitted are:
1) Mind Map
2) Thesis Statement
3) Annotated Bibliography
4) Presentation
Examples of using library databases containing scholarly journals, e-books, dissertations (electronic and print), etc., are used to provide bibliographic instructions in English (under the following tabs: Your Research Questions, Find Background Information, and Find Sources), Performing Arts (under the following tabs: Databases for Performing Arts, Newspaper Databases, and Books) and Visual Arts (under the following tabs: Home page, Newspaper databases, and Books) Libguides:
These library resources and services in the Libguides are used in curricular subject disciplines with related content.
LS 150 assignments include students using print books checked out from the library for annotated bibliographies. Educate students on requesting books through PASCAL and ILL and as an assignment, ask students to register in the ALMA system to check out books.
LS150: INFORMATION LITERACY (IL) AND TECHNOLOGY
Miller F. Whittaker Library
SC State University Orangeburg, SC 29117
Spring 2024
INSTRUCTOR
Ms. Ashley Till, Instructor/Reference and Electronic Resources Librarian
Phone: (803) 536-8640
E-mail: atill1@scsu.edu
Class Hours: Thursday, 5:15 pm. – 6:15 pm.
Classroom: SMART Classroom (Miller F. Whittaker Library-1st Floor) and via Blackboard Collaborate
Office: Miller F. Whittaker Library, Information Desk, First Floor
Office Hours: Tuesdays from 9:30 am. - 11:30 pm. and Wednesdays from 2:30 pm. – 4:00 pm. All other times by appointment.
Required Text: None. Materials for the course are available Online and/or from classroom instructor(s)
DEFINITION
Information literacy is defined as a set of abilities enabling individuals to recognize the need for information and to locate, evaluate and effectively use that information to become lifelong learners.1
DESCRIPTION
This instructional component is an introduction to information retrieval, evaluation, and research skills. Students completing these sessions will be able to locate and evaluate information and to think critically about research strategies. Ultimately, the aim of this library component is to empower individuals to become independent information seekers, users of information and lifelong learners.
LEARNING OUTCOMES
Upon completing this course students will be able to:
Determine the nature and extent of their information needs.
Access needed information effectively and efficiently.
Evaluate the information and its sources critically and incorporate selected information into his or her knowledge base and value system.
Demonstrate an understanding of many of the economic, legal, and social issues surrounding the use of information and access and use of information ethically and legally.
Method of Evaluation
Grading Summary
Assignments – 30%
Final Research Project – 40%
Annotated Bibliography (Mid-term) – 20%
Attendance, Class Activities, and Participation – 10%
Course Grading Scale
Final grades will be assigned based on the following SC State University’s alphanumeric grading scale.
A = 90 - 100
B = 80 - 89
C = 70 - 79
D = 60 - 69
F = 0 - 59
1 Based on the Association of College & Research Libraries’ [American Library Association] 1989 definition of information literacy.
COURSE POLICIES
Attendance
Students should be prompt and attend class regularly. Only one absence is permitted per one credit hour course. Only University authorized excuses will be accepted following the one permitted absence. Hence, excessive absenteeism may result in a failing grade.
Each unexcused absence will result in the loss of one (1) point and each time late will result in the loss of half (1/2) point from your class participation grade. Students leaving class prior to the end of the session, without the instructor’s approval, will be marked absent for that day.
Assignments
Students are expected to submit assignments on their due dates. Five (5) points will be deducted for each class period late. Any assignment not turned in by two (2) class periods will result in a zero (0) for that assignment.
Electronic Devices
Students are prohibited from using cell phones, iPods, PDAs, iPads, personal computers, and related electronic devices during scheduled class sessions. All such devices must be turned off or put on vibrate mode (cell phones) and should not be taken out during class unless advised by the course instructor(s).
Style Manual
Unless otherwise stated, APA is required for preparing “Reference Lists” and/or “parenthetical citations” for assignments.
Academic Integrity
Cheating and/or plagiarism are prohibited. As outlined in the SC State University Student Code of Conduct, cheating (pages 10-11) and plagiarism is a serious violation of academic and student conduct rules and is punishable by a failing grade and possibly more severe action (page 11).
Students with Disabilities
Students with disabilities who need accommodation in this class are encouraged to contact the Office of Student Disability Services at 803-536-7245 as soon as possible at the beginning of the semester.
Technical Support
If you have questions or concerns about Blackboard Learn 9.1 tools or if you experience technical difficulties, please contact Blackboard Support Services at (844) 348-1608. Blackboard Support Services are available 24 hours a day/7 days a week/365 days a year.
Course Outline
WEEK 1 (January 18, 2024): Introduction to Information Literacy and Technology
Review Syllabus and Getting Started (discuss class assignments and technology-driven project/technology-driven presentation of research topic, etc.).
Overview of LS150 Course in BlackBoardTM
Course Introductions
Assignment 1:
Pre-test DUE: January 25, 2024
WEEK 2 (January 25, 2024): Starting Your Research: Brainstorming
Identify the research topic (Brainstorming topic and narrowing topic).
Formulate a research strategy to find information about a select topic (identifying keywords, using connectors – Boolean Operators)
ASSIGNMENT 2:
Brainstorming Assignment DUE: February 1, 2024
WEEK 3 (February 1, 2024) Searching the Online Catalog
Search Online catalog for information and effectively locate resources on the topic.
Find books by title, author, subject, and keyword.
Demonstrate an understanding of search results.
Demonstrate an understanding and use of call numbers and Stack Directory to locate items in the library.
Classroom Activity: Conduct Online shelving tests.
NOTE: If you have never checked-out a book in the MFW Library, visit the circulation desk to get registered in the ALMA system.
WEEK 4 (February 8, 2024) E-Books, PASCAL, & Interlibrary Loan
Search the E-book Collections
Go to the Miller F. Whittaker’s website and submit an interlibrary loan form and PASCAL Delivers Request.
Demonstrate an understanding of how to submit an interlibrary loan request form.
Demonstrate an understanding of how to submit a PASCAL Delivers request.
WEEK 5 (February 15, 2024): SEARCHING FOR INFORMATION: Archives
Searching Archives & Digital Collections
Types of Archives
Using Finding Aids
Searching digital collections
WEEK 6 (February 22, 2024): Searching Databases
Search Online Databases for Articles and Related Information on Topic.
Overview of MFW Library online databases.
Choose the appropriate database.
Use online databases to find an article on a topic.
Demonstrate an understanding of BOOLEAN operators.
ASSIGNMENT 3: Database Search DUE: February 29, 2024
Week 7 (February 29, 2024): Searching for Information: Google and Popular vs. Scholarly Resources
Distinguish between popular and scholarly information.
Using Google to find scholarly resources.
ASSIGNMENT 4: Popular vs. Scholarly Sources DUE: March 7, 2024
WEEK 8 (March 7, 2024): Citing Sources and Annotations
Demonstrate an understanding that the appropriate documentation styles may vary by discipline (e.g., MLA for English, Chicago for history, APA for psychology, CBE for biology).
Identify various components of a bibliographic citation (author, title, year, etc.).
Differentiate between various types of cited works (e.g., book, journal, newspaper, etc.).
Develop Reference List citations using the APA Manual of Style.
Distinguish between electronic and non-electronic cited works.
Demonstrate an understanding of the use of various types of quotes (direct quotes, paraphrasing, summarizing).
MIDTERM Assignment: Annotated Bibliography Assignment DUE: March 21, 2024
SPRING BREAK March 10-March 17, 2024 (No Class)
Week 9 (March 21, 2024) Thesis Statement Examples and Academic Integrity and Ethics
Demonstrate a basic understanding of Intellectual Property as Applied to the Research Process (e.g., Trademarks, Patent, and Copyright – Fair use).
Demonstrate a Basic Understanding of What Constitutes Plagiarism
WEEK 10 (March 28, 2024): Review Final Presentation, Determine Groups, and Post-Test
ASSIGNMENT 5: Complete Post-test DUE: April 4, 2024
WEEK 11 (April 4, 2024): WORK ON FINAL PROJECT (NO CLASS)
Groups should be preparing for their presentations.
WEEK 12 (April 11, 2024) WORK ON FINAL PROJECT (NO CLASS)
Groups should be preparing for their presentations.
WEEK 13 (April 18, 2024): WORK ON FINAL PROJECT (NO CLASS)
Groups should be preparing for their presentations.
WEEK 14 (April 25, 2024): Final Project Presentations
Final Research Project Submissions
Final Research Project Presentations
Complete course/faculty evaluation
REFERENCES
American Library Association Presidential Committee on Information Literacy. (1989). Final Report. Washington, D.C.
Burkhardt, J. M., & MacDonald, M. C. (2003). Teaching information Literacy: 35 Practical, Standards- Based Exercises for college students. Chicago: American Library Association.
Cook, D. (Ed.). (2006). Teaching information literacy skills to social science students and practitioners: A casebook of applications. Chicago: Association of College and Research Libraries.
A Progress Report on Information Literacy: An Update on the American Library Association Presidential Committee on Information Literacy. (1998). Final Report. Washington, D.C.
Rader, H. (2002). Information literacy 1973-2002: A selected literature review. Library Trends, 51(2), 242-259.
Important Dates to Remember
Jan 16, 2024: Classes begin
Feb 8, 2024: Orangeburg Massacre Commemoration
March 3, 2024: Founder’s Day
March 6-March 9, 2024: Mid-term Examinations
March 10-March 17, 2024: Spring Break
March 18, 2024: Classes resume
April 2, 2024: Honors and Awards Convocation
May 10, 2024: Commencement Convocation
I will incorporate the University policies and curricula by engaging in department liaison in the Department of English and Communications (English, Modern Languages), Department of Military Sciences, Department of Visual and Performing Arts (Arts, Drama, Music), Freshman Programs and 1890 Research and Extension
Instructional classes:
- Provided tutorial to library and university personnel on Academic Video Online (AVON) during National Library Week 2023.
Throughout the semester the main focus will relate to information literacy:
Ordered as many books as the budget allowed me to do for my liaison departments using the new book ordering system, Rialto and Project Muse.
Good morning Dr. Landis,
I think we finally have the issues resolved with Project Muse. Please follow these steps. Go to the Miller F. Whittaker home page (https://scsu.libguides.com/home) and under databases, select Project Muse. If you haven't already, sign up for a username and password go to this webpage: https://muse.jhu.edu/account and sign up for an account. Now go to "browse" or the search bar at the top of that webpage. Once you do that and select a book (we only have access to books, not journals). You should get a page that has a green check by the chapters now. Please see the screenshot below:
Please let me know if this works for you, thank you, Ashley
Liaison librarians are available to you for assistance with collection development by facilitating book purchases that enhance your teaching curriculum and department needs. We play a primary role in the accreditation process by providing databases usage and book collections statistics to ensure that the library reflects the proper content of print and electronic resources required for accreditation. Liaison librarians are available to assist with any department programming that includes a library component.
The Liaison Instruction Program generates dialogue between the library and academic departments to enhance the library's understanding of user needs and to promote the library's services and resources. This program is designed to provide formal and informal library instruction based upon the needs of students, faculty, and staff. It is presented through lectures and demonstrations to respond to the total education process of the academic community.
The Library Instruction Program is an ongoing entity assuring each student at the university exposure to basic and varied library experiences and information resources. The program introduces students to library research methods and concepts so they can function effectively in modern libraries and information centers using multi-formatted information sources - print, microforms, databases, and online services. Focus is placed on instructional methods that will help users learn, select, and evaluate library materials appropriate to their needs. It is designed to motivate users to consistently use the library and its resources.
Library Instruction is presented on three levels:
Faculty and Community organizers may schedule a Subject-based instruction class by contacting the Reference Desk at 803-536-8640 or by completing a Library Instruction Request Form and emailing it to Ashley Till, atill1@scsu.edu.
I look forward to working with you this semester,
Ashley Till
Yes, Yes, Yes, they are amazing. There are a few that I was not able to access, but that is definitely good for today.
Thank you so very much for all your help today.
Yes, Yes, Yes, they are amazing. There are a few that I was not able to access, but that is definitely good for today.
Thank you so very much for all your help today.
Ms. Melanie Williams, Ed.S
Plan to work with Mrs. Doris Jonson Felder on updating the LS 150 curriculum during the Summer 2024, including reviewing the current curriculum, updating links in Libwizard for quizzes, and reviewing best practices I learned while teaching LS 150 Fall 2023-Spring 2024.
Throughout the semester, the focus will relate to information literacy:
Work as a liaison to the UCITS department and database vendors to manage proxy server access, configuration, and changes by:
Oops! It looks like you have attempted to view a page that has not been configured for access.
If you are a library patron...
Please contact your library and provide the name of the resource you were trying to access and the Host line below so the library can work with you to correct this error.
Thank you for your assistance, Ashley
Apr 9, 2024, 12:11 EDT
Hello,
I have adjusted the stanza; this link should work now.
Thank you,
Kasey North
OCLC · Customer Support Specialist
In 2023 and 2024, I worked on processing numerous vendor contracts, including getting quotes, communicating the process for submitting invoices, completing contract forms and submitting them to the legal department for review, and then getting the required vendor signatures after receiving the approved contracts from the legal department.
Stewart, Whitney Nell. "White/white and/or the Absence of the Modifier." Journal of the Early
Republic 43, no. 1 (2023): 101-108.
From: Till, Ashley L. <atill1@scsu.edu>
Sent: Friday, April 5, 2024 4:34 PM
To: Williams, Edwina <ewilli66@scsu.edu>
Cc: Till, Ashley L. <atill1@scsu.edu>
Subject: Fw: I'm interested in accessing Bloomsbury Digital Fashion Masterclasses
Good afternoon Professor Williams,
We plan to do a trial of Bloomsbury Digital Fashion Masterclasses once the database becomes available. I will keep you posted.
Take care,
Ms. Till
Ruth A. Hodges, Ph.D.
Dean, Library & Information Services
South Carolina State University
P.O. Box 7491
300 College St., N.E.
Orangeburg, SC 29117
Phone: (803) 536-8638
From: Till, Ashley L. <atill1@scsu.edu>
Sent: Tuesday, May 9, 2023 9:25 AM
To: Daniels, Avery <adaniel5@scsu.edu>; Hodges, Ruth A. <rhodges@scsu.edu>; Cooper Mack, Cathi <ccoopermack@scsu.edu>; Johnson-Felder, Doris <LB_DJohnson@scsu.edu>; Strait, Juanita H. <justrait@scsu.edu>
Subject: Searching Credo Reference update
Good morning,
Dr. Hodges provided a great presentation during National Library Week on searching the Credo Reference database. If you all recall, we were getting an error message when trying to access the articles on the right side of the screen. I'm pleased to say that these links are now working. Please let me know if you have any questions.
Thank you, Ashley
From: Till, Ashley L.
Sent: Tuesday, May 9, 2023 10:07 AM
To: Hodges, Ruth A. <rhodges@scsu.edu>; Strait, Juanita H. <justrait@scsu.edu>; Stokes, Stephanie <sstokes6@scsu.edu>; McDonald, Beatrice E. <bmcdona2@scsu.edu>; Colter, Charlene <ccolter2@scsu.edu>; Cooper Mack, Cathi <ccoopermack@scsu.edu>; Daniels, Avery <adaniel5@scsu.edu>; Johnson-Felder, Doris <LB_DJohnson@scsu.edu>; Keitt, Mykisha <mkeitt@scsu.edu>
Subject: Campus Heartbeat added to the website
Good morning everyone,
The last Campus Heartbeat newsletter has been added to the library's website under the "About" section.
It is that time of the year again to start planning the next newsletter. Please start getting together materials for the next newsletter so we can distribute it in Fall 2023. Items to be added to the newsletter include conferences attended, the number of students that visited the library the past two semesters, new databases added, presentations, professional development, pictures, National Library Week, upcoming events in the Fall 2023 semester, and more.
Thank you for your support,
Ashley
From: Jackson, Stephanie C. <sjack5@scsu.edu>
Sent: Tuesday, April 9, 2024 3:19 PM
To: Till, Ashley L. <atill1@scsu.edu>
Subject: Databases Work Off Campus
Good afternoon Ms. Till,
I met you yesterday in the library when you helped me to access journals from SCSU's databases. As promised, I checked to see if databases are working off-site. Thank Goodness! It appears that they are working. I have been able to access two of the databases today. I hope that they will continue to be available off-site.
Thank you again for your assistance yesterday.
Stephanie Jackson
Graduate Student
Ruth A. Hodges, Ph.D.
Dean, Library & Information Services
South Carolina State University
P.O. Box 7491
300 College St., N.E.
Orangeburg, SC 29117
Phone: (803) 536-8638
Eric Ham, M.ED
Chief Information Officer
South Carolina State University
300 College Street, NE
Orangeburg, SC 29115
From: Hodges, Ruth A. <rhodges@scsu.edu>
Sent: Monday, April 1, 2024 8:40 PM
To: Daniels, Avery <adaniel5@scsu.edu>; Till, Ashley L. <atill1@scsu.edu>; Keitt, Mykisha <mkeitt@scsu.edu>
Subject: Revision to Website
Good Evening,
At your earliest convenience, please make the following revisions to the library's website, especially those pertaining to library hours, which impact the new website's library introductory page.
If you have any questions, please let me know.
Thanks
Under Library Hours
A. Monday through Thursday summer hours, add after 5:00 p.m. (building closed); 5:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m. (Phone and Virtual Services)
Remove two asterisks in front of Friday and Saturday and place in front of Monday through Thursday hours.
B. Put asterisk in front of Library Hours at top of the page.
C. Add asterisk at bottom of page with following statement: Webform and Email Reference Services are available 24/7 hours for the submission of questions, which we will try to answer within two to three business days.
Note: Section at bottom of page - Add space between area code and phone number.
3. Deans and Directors’ Page
Please add full year at end of each director’s tenure (e.g., 1959-1960)
4. Research TAB — Remove HBCU Affordable Learning from under the RESEARCH tab
5. Citation TAB —Link to “Chicago online.”
Last link under Citation tab, change to “Zotero” . You can put (I believe "Citation
manager" should be listed in parentheses rather than a standalone link.
6. Study spaces — Currently we have duplicate links (study spaces and reserve) - Change to Reserve a study space
7. Get Latest Information
There are two newsletters linked here. Link these two newsletters to the other newsletters link on the library website.
Ruth A. Hodges, Ph.D.
Dean, Library & Information Services
South Carolina State University
P.O. Box 7491
300 College St., N.E.
Orangeburg, SC 29117
Phone: (803) 536-8638
From: Till, Ashley L. <atill1@scsu.edu>
Sent: Monday, April 15, 2024 2:26 PM
To: Hodges, Ruth A. <rhodges@scsu.edu>; Strait, Juanita H. <justrait@scsu.edu>; Johnson-Felder, Doris <LB_DJohnson@scsu.edu>; McDonald, Beatrice E. <bmcdona2@scsu.edu>; Keitt, Mykisha <mkeitt@scsu.edu>; Stokes, Stephanie <sstokes6@scsu.edu>; Cooper Mack, Cathi <ccoopermack@scsu.edu>; Colter, Charlene <ccolter2@scsu.edu>
Cc: Till, Ashley L. <atill1@scsu.edu>; Barr, Jason <jbarr2@scsu.edu>
Subject: Room reservation on the library's website is working again
Good afternoon,
IT has resolved the room reservation issue with reserving the study/conference rooms online from our website. This is now working, thanks to Jason Barr in IT.
Please let me know if you have any questions, Ms. Till
Ashley L. Till, MLIS
Electronic Resources Librarian/Reference Librarian
Miller F. Whittaker Library
South Carolina State University
300 College Street, NE
Orangeburg, South Carolina 29117
Office: (803) 536-7191
Email: atill1@scsu.edu
DGC-Subscriptions <subscriptions@un.org>
Till, Ashley L.
Karemera, David;Comtrade <comtrade@un.org>
Mon 4/15/2024 3:35 PM
Dear Ashley,
I am copying my colleagues from the UN Comtrade Team, and they will provide trial access as soon as possible.
Thank you and kind regards,
Mary Ann
Mary Ann O'Neill
Sales & Marketing Representative, United Nations Publications
Sales & Marketing Section
United Nations
Department of Global Communications
405 E. 42nd Street | S-11FWS001 | New York, NY 10017 | T: +1-212-963-8303 | F: +1-917-367-0154 | E-mail: oneillm1@un.org | The official source for United Nations books, data & more
SHOP.UN.ORG | The official source for United Nations books, data & more
UN-iLIBRARY.ORG | For global research and discovery
Twitter: @unpublications
Facebook: unpublications
From: Till, Ashley L. <atill1@scsu.edu>
Sent: Monday, 15 April, 2024 2:37 PM
To: DGC-Subscriptions <subscriptions@un.org>
Cc: Karemera, David <karemera@scsu.edu>; Till, Ashley L. <atill1@scsu.edu>
Subject: Trial of Comtrade database
Good afternoon,
Is it possible to do a trial of the Comtrade database? Our FTE is 3000+.
Thank you for your assistance, Ms. Till
Ashley L. Till, MLIS
Electronic Resources Librarian/Reference Librarian
Miller F. Whittaker Library
South Carolina State University
300 College Street, NE
Orangeburg, South Carolina 29117
Office: (803) 536-7191
Email: atill1@scsu.edu
I speak and enunciate with persons on a daily basis via in person, phone or emails and I always try to use the correct English. I speak in my native tongue, which is English, making sure that patrons understand.
Incorporate a new educational tool Quizlet which is designed to engage the students in the learning process.
From: Daniels, Avery <adaniel5@scsu.edu>
Sent: Tuesday, May 17, 2022 11:43 AM
To: Hodges, Ruth A. <rhodges@scsu.edu>
Cc: Till, Ashley L. <atill1@scsu.edu>
Subject: Digitization Micro-Grant Press Release - DRAFT
Dr. Hodges,
Good morning. Ashley and I have prepared a draft press release of the digitization micro-grant for the campus for your review. Please make any necessary changes and forward to Sam Watson for dissemination to the campus.
Thanks,
Mr. Avery L. Daniels
From: Till, Ashley L. <atill1@scsu.edu>
Sent: Monday, August 14, 2023 10:28 AM
To: Rogers, Chrystel B. <CRogers@scsu.edu>
Cc: Hodges, Ruth A. <rhodges@scsu.edu>; Pete Balthazor <peteb@rplfirm.com>; Strait, Juanita H. <justrait@scsu.edu>
Subject: Fw: CONTENTdm Annual Subscription – South Carolina State University (SGW) edits approved
Good morning,
The edits were approved for OCLC Contentdm. Please see the attached revised agreement.
Thank you, Ashley
Ashley L. Till, MLIS
Electronic Resources Librarian/Reference Librarian
Miller F. Whittaker Library
South Carolina State University
300 College Street, NE
Orangeburg, South Carolina 29117
Office: (803) 536-7191
Email: atill1@scsu.edu
From: Phipps,Michelle <phippsm@oclc.org>
Sent: Friday, August 11, 2023 6:21 PM
To: Till, Ashley L. <atill1@scsu.edu>
Subject: CONTENTdm Annual Subscription – South Carolina State University (SGW) edits approved
Hi Ashley,
Your edits were approved and included in the attachment. Please sign and return and we will counter-sign a copy back to you.
Thanks and have a good weekend.
|
Michelle Phipps |
|
OCLC · Inside Library Services Consultant, Library Services for Americas |
|
6565 Kilgour Place, Dublin, Ohio USA 43017 |
|
T +1-614-764-4301 · F +1-614-718-7145 |
South Carolina Library Association (SCLA)
Partnership Among South Carolina Academic Libraries (PASCAL)
Membership listservs: PASCAL boot camp and Academic Libraries, Rialto Bootcamp
During this digital age as a faculty librarian there is advancement in a new programs in the following areas:
I will remain informed on library developments and articles by using database Academic Search Complete for the article below:
A Discipline-Based Approach to Information Literacy. By: Grafstein, Ann, Journal of Academic Librarianship, 00991333, Jul2002, Vol. 28, Issue 4
Summary: Ernest Buyer characterizes the U.S college library as a seriously underused and under-funded resource. He argues that the quality of higher education depends on the library becoming a central learning resource on campus. Patricia Senn Breivik and Gordon Gee contend that the integration of the library into the college curriculum, a closing of the gap between the library and the classroom, is an essential component in developing information-literate graduates. This supports the need to have classes such as LS 150 and also to integrate a library component University 101. In their view, libraries provide a model of the kind of information environment in which independent graduates and self-directed learners will be called on to function in an information society. It should be emphasized that in the approach advocated by Breivik and Gee the library does not bear the exclusive responsibility for IL. An effective program involves a shared responsibility among librarians, academic administration, and classroom faculty. This requires the higher administration and faculty to seriously understand the resources and services that university libraries offer. The authors support that though librarians have in one form or another been teaching IL for many years, these projects have met, and will continue to meet, with minimal success, as long as they are initiated solely by librarians and supported only within the confines of the library. The argument is that such programs can meet with success only when they are developed within an explicit statement of philosophy from the highest levels of academic administration that establishes IL as part of the educational mandate of the institution.
This article's application to our library includes how we need the support of the higher administration to support the library and encourage faculty and students to utilize the library resources to become lifelong learners and that we need it mandated to incorporate information literacy in University 101 and in the classrooms by librarian liaisons. Simply put, we need the faculty to welcome, support, and use library instruction throughout the classes they teach. We also need the higher administration to value the library and support the needs of the library.
Rosetta Dingle, Ph.D.
Till, Ashley L.
Hodges, Ruth A.
##- Please type your reply above this line -##
Your request (#499509) about [External] Assistance with sign in for DIscus databases has been received and is being reviewed by our support staff. If you would like to add further information to your query or have a question, please reply to this email or click on the ticket number link above.
Thank you, OCLC Support
| Platform | Proprietary_ID | Metric_Type | Reporting_Period_Total |
| JSTOR | No_License | 219 | |
| JSTOR | Searches_Regular | 2325 | |
| JSTOR | Total_Item_Investigations | 1949 | |
| JSTOR | Total_Item_Requests | 1736 | |
| JSTOR | Unique_Item_Investigations | 1656 | |
| JSTOR | Unique_Item_Requests | 1457 | |
| JSTOR | Unique_Title_Investigations | 45 | |
| JSTOR | Unique_Title_Requests | 32 |
Assisted Avery Daniels on the event: Miller F. Whittaker Library 56th Anniversary exhibit. Available nationwide to library patrons. It is located in the two display cases and the wall on the first floor of the library.
56 Year Miller F. Whittaker Library (MFWL) Celebration Exhibit, April 2024
Assisted in creating the Freshmen 101 Library PowerPoint
Published Spring 2022 and Fall 2023 Library Newsletters
Co-wrote grant with Avery Daniels for the AUC Robert W. Woodruff Library and Project STAND Digitization Microgrant
How to Successfully Advocate for OER on Your Campus Workshop Submitted by Ashley L. Till
On September 28 and 29, 2021, Avery L. Daniels, Doris Felder, Dr. Ruth A Hodges, Cathi Mack, and Ashley L. Till attended a virtual workshop titled “How to Successfully Advocate for OER on Your Campus” with presenter Mary Jo Fayoyin, retired dean of library from Savannah State University. OER stands for Open Educational Resources.
This two day workshop gave tips on how the Miller F. Whittaker Library can use Open Educational Resources at South Carolina State University (SC State) by presenting how an OER project was successfully implemented at Savannah State University (SSU). The workshop provided a framework on how our library could use SSU’s successful implementation of the OER initiative and apply it here at SC State. The workshop included exercises on identifying the primary and secondary stakeholders, including students, faculty, the campus bookstore, alumni, the Registrar's office, and the community. Librarians reviewed both the University and the library’s strategic plans, mission statements, goals, and objectives to use as guidelines for developing an OER on campus strategic plan to successfully advocate for OER at SC State. Librarians also learned the importance of developing credibility with library stakeholders by showcasing its personal skills and attributes, and by being relatively realistic about the deliverables. Ms. Fayoyin taught librarians about the importance of tapping into their passion in telling a story and finding the storytellers who are capable of emphasizing how important it is to have affordable resources on campus. One important piece of advice was to recruit students to help with the project, for example, asking the art department students to help design a logo or getting mass communications students to help with social media.
New Computers in the Library Submitted by Ashley L. Till
The Miller F. Whittaker Library is pleased to announce that we have twenty-one (21) new computers in the commons area of the library on the first floor. These computers do not require students to sign in, nor do students need to select a printer when using the computers. Thus, all of these computers are set for automatic login and print to the designated printers. The Reference personnel is available to assist patrons during this time.
Computer Hours of Service::
Monday – Thursday 8:45 am to 9:45 pm
Friday 8:45 am to 4:45 pm
Saturday 12:15 pm to 4:45 pm
Sunday 3:15 pm to 8:45 pm
| Institution | Institution Type | Full-time equivalent FALL 2019 enrollment | ProQuest Subscription Use | ProQuest Subscription Downloads | ProQuest DDA Use | ProQuest DDA Downloads | EBSCO Use | EBSCO Downloads | OXFORD UPSO Psychology Collection Use | OXFORD UPSO Psychology Collection Downloads | TOTAL Use PASCAL E-Books | TOTAL Downloads PASCAL E-Books | Use Per FTE - All PASCAL E-Books |
| South Carolina State University | 4-year | 2281 | 55 | 23 | 1 | 0 | 165 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 221 | 23 | 0.10 |
Awarded the AUC Woodruff Library and Project STAND Digitization Microgrant, Please see email below::
Rosetta Dingle, Ph.D.
AUC Woodruff Library and Project STAND Digitization Grant
Coordinated the OER workshop for our librarians with Mary Jo Fayoyin:
From: Till, Ashley L. <atill1@scsu.edu>
Sent: Friday, September 24, 2021 3:09 PM
To: Mary Jo Fayoyin <maryjo.fayoyin@gmail.com>
Subject: Re: Meeting Information
Thank you Mary Jo, I look forward to the workshop next week! See you then, Ashley
Ashley L. Till, MLIS
Electronic Resources Librarian/Reference Librarian
Miller F. Whittaker Library
South Carolina State University
300 College Street, NE
Orangeburg, South Carolina 29117
Office: (803) 536-7191
Email: atill1@scsu.edu
From: Mary Jo Fayoyin <maryjo.fayoyin@gmail.com>
Sent: Friday, September 24, 2021 2:57 PM
To: Till, Ashley L. <atill1@scsu.edu>; Ms.ashleytill@gmail.com <Ms.ashleytill@gmail.com>
Subject: Meeting Information
Hello Ashley,
Great talking with you today. Here is the information for the zoom meeting on Tuesday and Wednesday:
MaryJo Fayoyin is inviting you to a scheduled Zoom meeting.
Topic: SCSU OER Webinar
Time: Sep 28, 2021 02:00 PM Eastern Time (US and Canada)
Every day, 2 occurrence(s)
Sep 28, 2021 02:00 PM
Sep 29, 2021 02:00 PM
Please download and import the following iCalendar (.ics) files to your calendar system.
Join Zoom Meeting
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/81445586171?pwd=NnNMOFM3RTM3L1crMElYeDA5cjZTQT09
2023-2024
A. Numerous vendor webinars and trainings.
B. PASCAL's Electronic Resources Librarian training.
A. Presentor at 2023 National Library Week on the AVON database
A. OER discussion and student feedback board for students with Cathi Cooper Mack: Ms. Mack and I solicited students for feedback on which classes they want to use of free textbooks (OER resources). See the email below.
B. Evaluation Survey for Freshmen Orientation
University Technology Committee
Workshops, Conferences, Trainings, Webinars attended in 2023-2024
Spring 2023 eFellows Online Teaching Certificate course
PASCAL/WSJ HBCU Program Overview
Promoting Equity in Information Literacy Instruction Through Universal Design for Learning
University Honors and Awards Convocation
Leading the Way for Information Literacy: Planning, Promotion, and Policy
Academic Video Online Tutorial
Nexis Uni Demo
Artstor User Group Meeting
Faculty meetings (Ongoing monthly)
Academic Libraries and Mental Health
Contentdm discovery call with SC State University
Behavior Change Coaching Initial (Ashley Till) with Summit Coaching, Shelby
Meeting with vendor Richard Haury/Database trial
PeMento and the Power of Peer Mentoring
New phone training Moss Hall
Updating Your AZ Database Page
EDIA Committee Meetings (Ongoing monthly)
Project Muse Journal Pricing for SC State meeting
Library Personnel Meetings (Ongoing)
Fall 2023 Faculty Insititute
General Assembly
What's New with LibGuides?
Dr. Perkins Library Instruction E 302 Advanced Composition Library Instruction class
Annual Cybersecurity Awareness Training
USPTO’S Patent and Trademark Resource Centers (PTRCs) (Ongoing)
Enhancing your library’s collections: Insights, collaborations, and future trends
Flirting with AI: Spend Some Interactive Time Exploring New Apps and Tools for Research
EDIA meeting with PASCAL Board and staff
Vendor demo meeting
PASCAL General meeting
Faculty Development Institute
Transforming Librarianship to Model Neuroinclusion in Libraries
Library Advocacy Work is Relationship Building Work: A Panel Discussion
Harnessing the power of primary sources: How libraries empower innovative teaching strategies
Get the Full Picture: Gathering Your ProQuest Resources
Defending Diversity II: The Challenges and Opportunities for DEIA Positions in Libraries
Miller F. Whittaker Library 56 Anniversary Celebration
Annual Honors and Awards Convocation 2024
Proving your library as a critical asset: Aligning library spending with your institution's academic programs
Recruiting to the Profession: The LIS Pipeline and How We Can Help
Provided the Dean with data analytics for the Dean's IPEDs, ACRL Benchmarking, and related reports.
Services provided as a resource person:
Utilize analytical and problem solving skills to IT department:
From: Till, Ashley L. <atill1@scsu.edu>
Sent: Wednesday, April 10, 2024 12:27 PM
To: Helpme <Helpme@scsu.edu>
Cc: Barr, Jason <jbarr2@scsu.edu>
Subject: Re: Ucits Helpdesk for Ticket #24716] Jason Barr wrote a Reply
This is the login page URL to test the CAS server: https://scsu.libapps.com/libapps/admin?
Ashley L. Till, MLIS
Electronic Resources Librarian/Reference Librarian
Miller F. Whittaker Library
South Carolina State University
300 College Street, NE
Orangeburg, South Carolina 29117
Office: (803) 536-7191
Email: atill1@scsu.edu
From: Till, Ashley L. <atill1@scsu.edu>
Sent: Wednesday, April 10, 2024 12:25 PM
To: Helpme <Helpme@scsu.edu>
Cc: Barr, Jason <jbarr2@scsu.edu>
Subject: Re: Ucits Helpdesk for Ticket #24716] Jason Barr wrote a Reply
Hi Jason,
Is this what you are asking for below?
Hi, Ashley,
Thanks for reaching out to Springshare. Sorry for the trouble here! This looks like an issue with your local SSO. If you haven't already, please get in touch with your IT department to see if there are issues with, or if anything has recently changed with, your SSO login system.
For a bit more context, you have LibAuth set up in LibApps, under Admin > LibAuth Authentication. You're using a CAS type configuration. When going in to view/edit this configuration, if you click the Test button, we see the same error as you get when trying to book a space: 403 - Forbidden: Access is denied. (You have this LibAuth configuration set up to be used when booking at your Miller F. Whittaker Library Location in Spaces, as shown next to the Activate LibAuth field.)
We have guidance here: LibAuth: Test and troubleshoot a CAS configuration — but if this is a sudden problem, it'll be best to start with your IT team, to ask about the status of your SSO.
I hope this helps! Reach out again if more questions pop up. I'm happy to help.🙂
Meg
Springy Support
Ashley L. Till, MLIS
Electronic Resources Librarian/Reference Librarian
Miller F. Whittaker Library
South Carolina State University
300 College Street, NE
Orangeburg, South Carolina 29117
Office: (803) 536-7191
Email: atill1@scsu.edu
From: ITSupportServices <ITSupportServices@scsu.edu>
Sent: Wednesday, April 10, 2024 12:19 PM
To: Till, Ashley L. <atill1@scsu.edu>
Subject: Ucits Helpdesk for Ticket #24716] Jason Barr wrote a Reply
--------------- Please reply above this line ---------------
|
Jason Barr wrote a reply in Fw: [Support] Reserving Room option not working.
Hi, Ashley, What is the Springshare URL for the CAS login and logout?
Thanks, The UCITS Support Team |
Attend faculty meetings monthly, General Assembly and Faculty Workshops (Team player)
Service mainly provided to LS 150 students, library instruction sessions to faculty and staff and assistance to graduate students off-campus.
Contacted Tyrone Clinton (SSRP) about being a mentor as soon as possible.
| Fundamentals of Electronic Resources Acquistions | 10/17/2022 to 11/11/2022 |
| Spring 2023 eFellows Online Teaching Certificate course | 3/5 to 4/2/2023 |
Till, Ashley L.
Colter, Charlene
Cooper Mack, Cathi
Tue 10/4/2022 3:18 PM
Good afternoon,
I was able to access Gobi and set up folders. I selected items to add to my folders, they are all ebooks. Please let if you need anything else from me to order the books.
Thank you, Ashley
AUC Robert W. Woodruff Library and Project STAND Digitization Microgrant
The AUC grant is affiliated with the Project STAND (Student Activism Now Documented), a project focusing on student activism, past and present. As indicated on the Project’s website, student organizers from communities of color are often the heartbeat of social movements that lead to transformative justice. Evidence of SC State students’ struggle for racial equality and social justice is seen in the Collegian as early as 1946. During the 1960s, student protests and other events led to the Orangeburg Massacre in 1968, a story still being told.
SC State’s participation in this grant provides the opportunity for digitization and virtual dissemination of student newspapers. This will allow the student’s story to be told from the student’s own perspective, as they strived for social justice for people of color. Maximum funding offered by the Digital Flowers project is $15,000. This project may serve as a catalyst to obtain additional funding for digitization of the entire Orangeburg Massacre Collection.
Dear Mr. Elbert Malone, Ms. Ashley Till, and Mr. Avery Daniels, Thank you for submitting your project for consideration for an AUC Robert W. Woodruff Library and Project STAND Digitization Microgrant, funded through the generous support of Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. We are excited to share that your project, SC State Student Newspaper Collection, has been selected for an award of $16,000. The review committee was inspired by the project description and clear commitment to ethical documentation of student activism. We look forward to supporting your work.
In the coming weeks, we will follow up with an official award letter, press release, and details about the administrative process. As we are still in the process of notifying recipients, we ask that details about the award not be shared publicly. Do not hesitate to reach out to us with additional questions or concerns. Congratulations, on behalf of the grant selection committee! Warm Regards,
keondra
The WYSO Archives Hosts the HBCU Radio Preservation Project
Historically Black Colleges/Universities (HBCU) radio stations have both participated in and documented the African American experience, including the Civil Rights era. There are currently 104 HBCUs, and of those, 29 have active radio stations. In thirteen states and the District of Columbia, the stations are as diverse as HBCUs themselves: they are public/private, large/small, rural/urban, and range in geography from the Deep South to the Midwest, from the Eastern Seaboard to the Great Plains. Many of these stations have been in existence for decades, and their obsolete magnetic media are deteriorating; we stand to lose forever this primary source material reflecting the diversity of the Black experience over time. In addition, born digital material is also at risk, due in part to its sheer volume; it also has specific preservation needs. There is no database or easily accessed, comprehensive information on any historical materials that HBCU radio stations might hold.
Phase II Pilot Project activities include:
National Preservation Program: Preservation Needs Assessment and Preservation Plan
This program is open to institutions with humanities collections that are available to the public on a regularly scheduled basis located anywhere in the United States. Through funding from the NEH, CCAHA is able to offer a limited number of subsidized assessments for a total of just $500 each.
Participation in this program requires a two-year commitment. In the first year, the institution will be assigned an assessor, who will work with the institution over the course of the program. The assessor will require access to institutional policies, procedures, plans, and other information. During the first year, the assessor will schedule a time to visit the institution and conduct a preservation needs assessment. The preservation needs assessment process encompasses a general evaluation of the institution's preservation needs for their collections and includes: environment (temperature, relative humidity, pollution, and light), housekeeping, pest control, fire protection, security, and disaster preparedness; collection storage, handling, exhibition, and treatment; and preservation planning. The site visit consists of a review of the facility conducted by a CCAHA preservation expert, an examination of the collections, and interviews with relevant staff. The written report provides observations, recommendations, and resources to serve as a guide in the development of a comprehensive preservation plan for the collections.
In the second year, the assessor will then work with the institution to develop a three-five-year preservation plan for their collections. A preservation plan provides a strategic framework for advancing preservation and collections care initiatives. The preservation plan will address: institutional policies and procedures; collection development policies and priorities; emergency preparedness and response; environmental conditions and monitoring (temperature, relative humidity, light, pests, and mold); storage furniture and materials; security; housekeeping; staffing; financial resources; repair and conservation treatment needs; reformatting options (microfilming, photoduplication, photocopying, and digital imaging); and exhibition needs. The plan will include timetables with benchmarks and assign responsibilities.
